Review: The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex #1) by Lindsay Cummings

Book Title: The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex #1)
Author: Lindsay Cummings
Published Date: June 10th, 2014
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Genre: YA Science Fiction
Series: Book One in The Murder Complex Trilogy
Book Link: Goodreads
Synopsis from Goodreads:
An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings
.

Disclaimer: I received this book from Greenwillow Books via Edelweiss in exchange for my honest review.

Review:
I was so excited about this book when I first downloaded it from Edelweiss. It seemed right up my alley. But when I finally got a chance to sit down and read it, I was only mildly interested in it. I was liking the characters names. I’m obsessed with the name Zephyr now. I want to name everything Zephyr.

But the character development was totally lacking. I wanted more character development for Zephyr & Meadow. I also didn’t really feel the chemistry between them which really bummed me out. I felt like they were only good friends and that was it. There was no sizzling chemistry, I didn’t root for them to kiss. Actually, I think the book would have been much stronger without the romance. Usually I don’t say that. In fact I think I’ve only said it once before. Some books are much stronger without the romance.

I had a lot of hope for the world building and I hate to admit that I was disappointed. I felt like more care & attention should be paid to the world building. Especially when it’s a science fiction or a dystopian world. It’s the author’s job to make the reader feel like they’re in the world they are reading about. Unfortunately Cummings’ attempts at world building were not as good as I was hoping they would be.

I hate being disappointed by books, but I didn’t enjoy The Murder Complex like I thought I would. Giving it 2 stars is very difficult for me, but this book just wasn’t for me and I won’t be continuing the series. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s