Review: Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

2

DODSBook Title: Daughter of Deep Silence
Author: Carrie Ryan
Published Date: May 26th, 2015
Publisher: Dutton Books For Young Readers
Genre: YA Mystery
Standalone
Book Link: Goodreads
Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Synopsis from Goodreads
I’m the daughter of murdered parents.
I’m the friend of a dead girl.
I’m the lover of my enemy.
And I will have my revenge.

In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.

Sharp and incisive, Daughter of Deep Silence by bestselling author Carrie Ryan is a deliciously smart revenge thriller that examines perceptions of identity, love, and the lengths to which one girl is willing to go when she thinks she has nothing to lose.

Disclaimer: This is a library book.

Review
I’ve been in an epic book slump this past month or so. I’m not even sure how many (if any) books I read in July. Needless to say, I was worried Daughter of Deep Silence wouldn’t pull me out of it. I needed a really good book.

Thankfully, Daughter of Deep Silence pulled me in almost immediately. I was a little put off at first when I realized Frances was only 14. That is younger than most of the characters in YA books. I was worried she would stay that age throughout the entire book. I think that would have caused me not to enjoy the book, despite getting into it really quickly.

Thankfully, after a few chapters, the book fast forwarded four years. Once that happened, I was less nervous. I just didn’t know how I was going to handle the book being about a 14 year old girl. It would have felt too young for me.

With the time jump, I was able to enjoy the story. Enjoy how Libby/Frances handled things when she knew Senator Wells and his son, Grey had lied about had happened that night. It wasn’t a wave that took out the Persephone and the majority of it’s passengers. It was men with guns who took out the Persephone and it’s passengers.

Only a few people know the truth and Frances/Libby is determined to make sure the truth comes out. She’s tired of hiding, tired of pretending she’s one person, when she’s really not.

And then there’s Grey. Grey who fell in love with Frances on that boat. Grey who was still missing Frances just as badly four years later. What baffles me that Grey knew Frances only a short amount of time, and yet he never forgot about her. Not only that, he didn’t even recognize her when she was standing in front of him.

Grey’s father was creepy and he gave me the heebie jeebies. I never trusted him, I always suspected he knew more than he was willing to tell anyone. He was savy, smart and cunning. He knew what to say, what not to say, how to act, etc. He was not going to allow anyone to find out what he knew.

Yet, he knew Libby was dangerous. Even if Libby claims she can’t remember anything from that fateful night. Senator Wells tries everything in his power to keep his on Grey from associating with her. But Grey can’t stop.

He’s falling for her.

And she is falling for him.

A lot of the stuff I want to talk about, I really can’t because it’s pretty spoilery. I will say that I enjoyed this book a lot and I definitely recommend it to those readers who enjoy a good mystery with a compelling main character. I am giving it four stars.

2 comments on “Review: Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

  1. I read this book but wait what.. I think I missed the part where they told us their ages. OMG I didn’t know she was that young. And it was kind of weird having that romance between them then hmmm.. This book also got me out of my reading slump and needless to say, it was so fast-paced and just the revenge thriller I’ve been looking for. Great review! Loved this book too ❤

    Like

    • Alexia says:

      They talked about the ages early on, it was easy to miss that.

      This book was honestly better than I expected it to be. I am so glad I gave it a shot.

      Like

Leave a Reply

