Disney Love- Day 2

disney

I’ve always been a Disney girl. Some of my earliest memories are of my parents renting Disney movies for me on a regular basis, and my dad taking me to the theatre to see new releases. I loved the action and the music and the romance and the magic. As I got older, I never stopped watching Disney movies. A friend and I talked recently about watching and loving animated movies, and we said we couldn’t understand adults who claim animated movies are ‘just for kids’. I would hate to lose that childlike wonder I still feel whenever I watch one of my childhood favourite movies or discover new ones.

The 5 Movies That Started My Love Affair With Disney
Robin Hood – Robin Hood – yes, the cartoon fox – was one of my first-ever crushes. He’s so swoony! He’s brave and chivalrous and funny…plus his accent is super sexy. 😉 I loved all the action in Robin Hood, the music, the highs and the lows within the story, and the romance between Robin and Maid Marian. It took some coaxing to get my nephews to watch this one, but they both love it and it gives me an excuse to watch it on a regular basis…not that I really need an excuse!

Sword in the Stone – Just as the Disney version of Robin Hood started my love of the Robin Hood legends, Sword in the Stone started my love of the King Arthur legends. It’s such a fun movie – all the magic and music and action. Wart, Merlin, and Archimedes are absolutely hilarious, plus there are some important life lessons thrown in there, too.

Pocahontas
– This movie came out almost exactly a year after my dad died, and it was the first movie my mum ever took me to see in the theatre (theatre trips were always a daddy-daughter thing). It has a special place in my heart for that reason alone, but it’s also a fantastic movie. I love Pocahontas’s free spirit, the nature aspects, the portrayal of the settlers vs the Natives, and the music. Colours of the Wind is still one of my favourite songs ever.

Beauty and the Beast – Out of all the Disney princesses, I feel I’m most like Belle, so I always connected to this movie. I love how sweet and smart and loyal she is, but that she can also be fiery and fierce when she needs to be. And, like the other movies on my list, the music is another big draw for me with this movie. Plus, seriously, I’d be locked away with the Beast if I could have his library!

Aladdin – I watched this one so much that I knew it by heart…literally. My aunt, uncle, and cousin came to visit once and I convinced them to watch Aladdin. I didn’t even know I was reciting all the dialogue until I realized they were all staring at me. I loved the adventure and the music (again!) and the romance, and I adored Genie.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Marie is a Canadian Young Adult and New Adult author who writes happily ever afters while dreaming about the day she’ll have her own epic love story to tell. Most days you can find her writing, reading, blogging at Ramblings of a Daydreamer, fantasizing about traveling the world, listening to U2, or watching copious amounts of TV on DVD.

Leave a Reply

