Disney Love- Day 7

disney

Hi, guys! I’m so excited to be here on Adventures in Reading to talk about one of my favorite things, Disney! I was so pumped when Alexia said she wanted to do a Disney week on her blog, so thanks, Alexia, for having me!

So the criteria for this post was really open; I can talk about anything that I wanted so long as it had to do with Disney. I thought for a long time about what the best way to talk about everything I love about Disney would be, and I thought a letter would work. Becca from Pivot Book Reviews and Reading Teen writes these cool letters to books she reads, and I wanted to do something similar, so here it goes! Here’s a little something I wrote for Walt Disney.

Dear Walt Disney,

Years ago, you were just a guy with a dream and a passion. Now you and your dream are household names. Crazy how that happens, huh? Who would have known that with the creation of a few simple cartoon characters, the world would be forever changed? You took your dreams and turned them into realities with Oswald and Mickey and Minnie and Donald and Goofy and countless more. Then you took it further and created the first ever full length animated film, starring the first ever Disney princess, Snow White. Flash forward a few years. and Disneyland was born. Your dream had come a long way.

Your legacy and your dream live on today, and oh, man, I wish you were here to see it now. I wish you could see all the new technology that makes Disney parks thrive and helps take the magic to a whole new level. I wish you could see how far animation has come and how many new characters Disney animators have brought to life, like Belle and the Beast, characters from the first Disney animated film to be nominated for an Academy Award for Best Picture, or Jasmine, the first (of hopefully many, many more to come) princess of color.

Every time I step foot into Disneyland or watch a Disney movie, I am in awe of your accomplishments. Every time I meet a princess or sing “I Have a Dream” in my car at the top of my lungs or eat a Dole Whip Float for breakfast or ride Thunder Mountain, I do so with the biggest smile on my face and the utmost happiness in my heart. Because your dream inspires me. Disney is a huge part of my life, and it probably always will be. I am so happy you let your dream come to life. I hope I can do the same for mine.

Thanks,

Serena

Hi! I’m Serena, and I’m a sixteen year old lover of books, music, theater, and other things pop-culture. I’m a frequenter of concerts, bookstores, bakeries, Disneyland, and Target. My hobbies include reading, hoarding fictional boyfriends (though Jonah Griggs is my #1, always), watching crime shows and obsessing over Taylor Swift. I also love interacting with authors and other bloggers. My favorite genres are contemporary and fantasy, but I’ll try anything if only just once. I’m probably wearing a nerdy shirt as you’re reading this. Ask me about that time I met Tom Felton and hid behind a bakery display.

Serena

 

Leave a Reply

