Disney Love- Day 15

disney

Hello, everyone at Adventures in Reading! My name is Erin, and I blog at The Hardcover Lover. I’m extremely excited to be able to share this guest post with you today as I am a huge fan of all things Disney. My love of Disney is not well-known to everyone in the book community, but today, we’re changing that!

I guess you could say that I was kind of born into my love for all things Disney. I just so happened to be born the year that The Little Mermaid came out in theaters, and my mom made sure she bought it for me so I’d always have my first Disney movie. Years later, I found out that she bought the VHS with the original cover, and despite stores allowing people to return the offensive cover for a new one, she kept it. So… I have a VHS tape of The Little Mermaid with a naughty image on it! Oh well… maybe it will be worth money one day.

Now that I’ve mentioned The Little Mermaid, I want to share another Ariel moment with you. Every year, and even now that I’m an adult, my mom and dad buy me one of the Hallmark Keepsakes Disney ornaments as a Christmas present. It’s a little tradition that I love because it combines my love of Christmas and Disney. I’ve had an obsession with Tinker Bell and Belle for a while, so I usually get those ornaments. But this past Christmas, I decided that I really needed to go for that Little Mermaid connection, and get the 25thLittle Mermaid Anniversary ornament. It’s gorgeous, and I cannot wait to put it on my tree next year! I’m sure it will go well with my collection of Belles and Tinker Bells. (Psh… I even have a Tinker Bell tree topper. I swear that I’m going to need to have a Disney dedicated Christmas tree for the amount of Disney ornaments I have!)

Okay… so since I mentioned Christmas, I want to talk about one more thing. When I was a teenager, I babysat for a woman who just so happened to have a very rich boyfriend. Once Thanksgiving, she took me and my sister to Disney World with her, so we could watch her kids at the parks, and while they went out at night. It was my first (and only) trip to Walt Disney World, but I loved it so much! We stayed at the Grand Floridian, and it was just so much fun! The hotel smelled magnificent because they were building a huge gingerbread house inside the lobby! I loved seeing the parks all decorated for Christmas. We did get kicked off of the It’s a Small World ride because the mom got bored and started splashing us! I loved watching the parades, and the Princess show! It was the most magical week of my life, and I’d love to go back one day during the holidays.

Leave a Reply

