Review: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

1

ELW
Book Title: Every Last Word
Author: Tamara Ireland Stone
Published Date: June 16th, 2015
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Genre: YA Contemporary
Standalone
Book Link: Goodreads
Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Synopsis from Goodreads
If you could read my mind, you wouldn’t be smiling.

Samantha McAllister looks just like the rest of the popular girls in her junior class. But hidden beneath the straightened hair and expertly applied makeup is a secret that her friends would never understand: Sam has Purely-Obsessional OCD and is consumed by a stream of dark thoughts and worries that she can’t turn off.

Second-guessing every move, thought, and word makes daily life a struggle, and it doesn’t help that her lifelong friends will turn toxic at the first sign of a wrong outfit, wrong lunch, or wrong crush. Yet Sam knows she’d be truly crazy to leave the protection of the most popular girls in school. So when Sam meets Caroline, she has to keep her new friend with a refreshing sense of humor and no style a secret, right up there with Sam’s weekly visits to her psychiatrist.

Caroline introduces Sam to Poet’s Corner, a hidden room and a tight-knit group of misfits who have been ignored by the school at large. Sam is drawn to them immediately, especially a guitar-playing guy with a talent for verse, and starts to discover a whole new side of herself. Slowly, she begins to feel more “normal” than she ever has as part of the popular crowd . . . until she finds a new reason to question her sanity and all she holds dear.

Disclaimer: I received this e-ARC from Disney Hyperion via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

Review
Oh my god. I think my feels are dead. This book wrecked me in the best possible way. I don’t talk about this much, but I have OCD and until I started this book, I had no idea that my obsessive thoughts, my obsessions over the number 16, and my constant overthinking of things was part of OCD.

I thought I was genuinely crazy and that was utterly terrifying.

I loved Sam. She was raw, real and awesome. She was so resistant to being different, to showing weakness in front of anyone outside of her psychiatrist or her family.

No one knew the real her. Not the friends she had known since kindergarten, not the people she swam with.

Not until she met Caroline and the rest of Poet’s Corner. AJ, Sydney, Emily, Cameron, Jessica, Chelsea and Abigail are all part of this thing. They come to be better friends in just a few months than her other friends have been in twelve years. She is able to be the real Sam with them.

I was really curious to see how things would progress with AJ and Sam. Especially considering how Sam’s superficial friends treated him when they were just in grade school. I was worried that AJ would still hold a grudge about that. Thankfully he handled it well.

The ending was crazy-pants. I was utterly stunned at certain events that took place at the end of this book. Certain things happened in this book that I never expected. If you’ve read the book, I’d love to know if you guessed the twist.

This book was gorgeous, heartbreaking and it left me emotionally spent, half sobbing, half hyperventilating. I loved this book and I think it needs to be in all high school classrooms. It’s such an important book. I’ll be giving it 5 stars.

One comment on “Review: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

  1. Monica R. says:

    I absolutely loved this book, it was everything I was expecting and more! Even though I don’t have OCD, I have depression and I completely related to Sam so much. I think this book definitely captured mental illnesses alike and I’m thankful for it! We just have to keep fighting and remembering that it does get better! I’m glad you also enjoyed this book! ❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

