Review: The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass #0.1-0.5 by Sarah J. Maas

bf7e7-tab
Book Title: The Assassin’s Blade
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Published Date: March 4th, 2014
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Genre: YA Fantasy
Series: Throne of Glass series
Book Link: Goodreads
Purchase Links: AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Synopsis from Goodreads
Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out

Disclaimer: This book was gifted to me.

Review
Since there were 5 novellas encased in this book, I’ll be reviewing them separately.

The Assassin and the Pirate Lord
This first novella introduces us to Arrobynn, Celaena, Sam and several other characters. We then watch as Celaena and Sam work to free the slave ships. I wasn’t all that enamored with this one. It was cool what she and Sam did, but, I don’t know, I was kinda hoping for more.

The Assassin and the Healer
I loved this one. I loved seeing a different side to Celaena. Yrene was my favorite secondary character and I loved watching her transform from a weak, quiet girl to a tougher, bolder girl. All with Celaena’s help. It showed me that Celaena was able to be multifaceted.  I loved seeing that she had a heart.

The Assassin and the Desert
In this book, we meet Ansel, another secondary character who I loved. I actually loved seeing Celaena want a friendship with another girl. The ending was utterly crazy, and twisty turn-y. I didn’t even expect it. I guess that’s the mark of really awesome twists. I think I liked this novella the best, although I really enjoyed all of them.

The Assassin and the Underworld
Holy hell, this one made me angry. I wanted nothing more than to kick Arobynn’s teeth in. At the very beginning of these novellas, I thought he was a good person. I didn’t realize how much of an asshole he was until this novella. By the time this novella was over, I was utterly livid with him. I did love watching Celaena slowly fall for Sam. They were adorable together and I loved them.

The Assassin’s Empire
This novella destroyed my feels. Oh my god, I suspected what would happen, but I was so hoping I was wrong. I hated reading about what was happening. I hated it for Celaena. She went from being a girl of strength, both mental and physical, to a girl who was only a shell of herself. What a character arc!

The writing was beautiful. I don’t even know how Sarah J. Maas does it. She manages to weave together a gorgeous story with beautiful writing. I will be giving this book 4 stars. If you haven’t read the series yet, I’d recommend you read The Assassin’s Blade first.

Leave a Reply

