Week One: NaNoWriMo 2015

Hi guys!

So I promised you I’d do a more in depth post about NaNo. I struggled with what to talk about because I really don’t want to give away plot points, also known as spoilers. In the event that the book I’m working on, actually becomes a published novel, I don’t want anyone to know about the twists before reading it. So, to my future betas, don’t spoil it.

The frustrating part for me was deciding which of my ideas was I gonna tackle this time. Was it going to be the bisexual boy’s story. Or the female college student who fell for someone she never expected. Or any of the other 4 plot bunnies I had rolling around in my head. Which story idea was I going to tackle this month?

I thought I had it all planned out. I knew the story I was gonna write and I was excited to write it. On Halloween afternoon, I started having second thoughts. So I took to Twitter and polled my followers. I was curious to see what they would vote for, and unsurprisingly the votes went pretty much how I thought they would.

I am learning to trust my gut as a writer. I am learning to see which stories have legitimate potential and which stories will never be good no matter how much revision I put into them.

The story I chose to work on this month has staying power. It has the ability to turn into something amazing. I just cannot wait to see what this story & these characters have in store for me.

Are you doing NaNoWriMo this month?

Leave a Reply

