Week 3: NaNoWriMo 2015

I think I just have to conclude that NaNo is not the right avenue for me. I get burned out easily, my wrists scream in pain and the ideas hit a wall. I truly think NaNo (as great as it is for some people) just doesn’t work for me. It makes me sad thinking about that because I do have so many stories I want to tell.

I will tell them, just maybe in my own time, at my own pace.

The character’s from last year’s NaNo project are calling my name so I decided to return to them. To tell their story of strength, survival and the determination of the human spirit. I can’t say much more about it because I do want people to be surprised when I do finish it.

But I am working on it, slowly but surely.

NaNo just carries within it, a whole fuckton of pressure and usually I don’t fold under pressure, but this is another type of pressure. It’s self pressure, community pressure.

It’s constantly exhausting.

It makes me not want to write anymore.

In other words, it does the exact opposite of what it’s supposed to do.

Am I the only one who feels this way?

Leave a Reply

