TTT: Top Ten Books I’m Thankful I Took A Chance On

cd680-ttt
This feature is hosted by the ladies of The Broke and the Bookish.

This week was a rough topic. It was a semi-freebie centered around Thanksgiving. I focused on books that I may have been nervous about or against, but ended up enjoying.

fc9a0-dd1PJc15cb-amsd
Damage Done looked really good, but the cover didn’t really excite me. The book turned out to be one of my favorite books of this year.
Placebo Junkies looked promising, but by the time I got to it, I was nervous about all the hype I had built up for it. It turned out to have one of my favorite protagonists of the year in it.
A Madness So Discreet also looked promising, but since I hadn’t been a fan of the author’s previous work, I was nervous. Plus the fact it was a historical YA made me even more nervous. This book turned out to be one of the biggest surprises, if not the biggest surprise for me.

ELW7b116-ee08b36-mhaobh
Every Last Word was hard for me to read because it sometimes felt like I was reading a story from my own life. So glad I pushed through the feels and read it.
Everything, Everything was so hyped up in my own head that I was actually scared to read it. So glad I read it anyway.
My Heart and Other Black Holes was a hard read because I had been so disappointed by other “suicide books” I ended up LOVING it.
841fe-tc58577-paperweight3defd-twatd
The Creeping could have gone either way. I like horror novels, but they generally aren’t the first books I pick up. This one ended up being awesome.
Paperweight looked amazing, it was supposed to be amazing and it was. The first half of the book was difficult to read because the protagonist was difficult to like.
The Wrath and the Dawn had received high praise from everyone and I was so nervous that I wouldn’t enjoy it. I pre-ordered it without reading it first. I took a chance and it paid off spectacularly.

af79a-lp
Little Peach was a tough read from the beginning. I spent the entire book in tears. I am so thankful I decided to read this book with this tough subject.

If you did this week’s TTT, leave me your links to your posts.

Leave a Reply

