Top Ten Debut Authors Who Have Me Looking Forward To Their Sophomore Novel

cd680-tttThis feature is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s prompt was pretty easy for me. I was able to nail down ten authors in less than ten minutes. The hard part was dealing with the fact that several of them don’t have covers yet, because I don’t usually feature a book unless it has a cover.

Anyway, go check out my list!

Amy Zhang
c23f4-fipTIWTWE
Falling Into Place-Released Fall 2014
This Is Where The World Ends-Releasing Spring 2016

Becky Albertalli
9dd25-simon
Simon vs the Homo Spaiens Agenda-Released Spring 2015
Untitled (No cover)-Releasing 2016

Brandy Colbert
aee13-pointe
Pointe-Released Spring 2014
Little Lion (No cover)-Releasing 2017

Katrina Leno
THLOMPTLAF
The Half Life of Molly Pierce-Released Summer 2014
The Lost & Found-Releasing Summer 2016

Aaron Hartzler
62c2f-wws
What We Saw-Released Summer 2015
Twitch (No cover)-Releases 2016

Amanda Panitch
fc9a0-dd1
Damage Done-Released Summer 2015
Never Missing, Never Found (No cover)-Summer 2016

Alexandra Sirowy
841fe-tcTT
The Creeping-Released Summer 2015
The Telling-Releasing Summer 2016

Wendy Mills
PBAWHL
Positively Beautiful-Released Winter 2015
All We Have-Releasing 2016

Natalie C. Parker
c31dc-btwBTB
Beware the Wild-Released Fall 2014
Behold the Bones-Releasing Winter 2016

Tess Sharpe
894e0-ffy
Far From You-Released Spring 2014
Somewhere Between Right and Wrong (No cover)-Releasing 2017

If you did a TTT today, feel free to leave the links to your posts in the comments section.

TTT: Top Ten Author Duos You’d LOVE To See Write A Book Together

cd680-ttt

This feature is hosted by the lovely ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish.

I wasn’t sure how easy or hard this topic would be, but I wanted to give myself a challenge. Go check out my dream parings.

Emery Lord & Jessi Kirby
-If these two ever wrote a book together, I would need to stockpile a LOT of kleenex to get through their book-

Sarah J. Maas & Marie Lu
-These two write badass ladies and have beautiful writing. Imagine how amazing their collaboration would be –

Mary E. Pearson & Renee Ahdieh
-Okay, someone needs to make this happen. Badass ladies again plus fabulous world building-

Christa Desir & Courtney Summers
-I have a feeling if these two EVER wrote a book together, I’d need a drink to calm the hell down-

Tamara Ireland Stone & Courtney C. Stevens
-These two write characters that are wonderfully & heartbreakingly real. I would lose my crap if they ever wrote a book together-

Brandy Colbert & Tess Sharpe
-Two of my favorite & most underrated authors. Both of these ladies wrote books that broke my heart, and pushed the envelope on those tough topics-

Francesca Zappia & Katrina Leno
-These two wrote about mental illnesses in heartbreakingly real ways and they both exceeded my expectations when I did read their beautiful books-

Becky Albertalli & Amy Zhang
-This is a bit of a wild card pick, but Amy’s writing is stunning and Becky’s first book was quirky and adorable. I’d be thrilled if they wrote a book together-

Trish Doller & Peggy Kern
-These two authors have written some of my favorite books. Books that have been hard to read at times, but awesome books nonetheless. If they wrote a book together, it would probably be raw, realistic and amazing-

Abigail Haas & Amanda Panitch
-These ladies are the QUEENS of mind fuckery. My goodness, if they EVER wrote a book together, I’d probably spontaneously combust-

If you did a TTT post this week, leave me the link in the comment section. If we have any of the same picks, don’t forget to tell me.

Review: Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

Book Title: Falling Into Place
Author: Amy Zhang
Publish Date: September 9th, 2014
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Genre: YA/Contemporary
Standalone
Book Link: Goodreads
Pre-Order Links: AmazonBarnes & Noble
Synopsis from Goodreads:
On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road. 

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

Disclaimer: I received this e-ARC from Greenwillow Books via Edelweiss in exchange for my honest review.

Review:
Okay, let’s see if I can get my thoughts all written down before I start crying. Holy cow, this was such a powerful book. Emotional punches were packed tightly within this book so it was akin to a roller coaster, albeit, an emotional one. Knowing a teenager wrote this, seriously makes me feel like a big fat slacker.

I cannot say enough amazing things about the prose. Oh my goodness, it was beautifully written. It was emotional, it was easy to relate to and it was written in a way that would ordinarily confuse the heck outta me. But this time, I wasn’t confused. I was too drawn in to be confused by the fact that the timeline of the book wasn’t straightforward. There were flashbacks and a lot of jumping around to different parts of the story.

Sometimes when the writing is really beautiful, character development suffers. Happily, that was not the case with this book. Liz, her mom, her friends and even the boy she bullied, were all well rounded, complex characters which was another thing that I loved. No, the characters as a whole were not likable characters, but each of them had their own redeeming moments.

This book also had some tough subjects attached to it. Rape, Suicide, bullying, teen pregnancy, drug & alcohol use. These subjects were weaved into the story well which was great to see as often it feels as if the author has bit off more than she can chew. Clearly, that was not the case with this author.

Books like this tend to be on the preachy side, but thankfully this one was not. It did make me think a lot about my own life and what it means to be a friend, to love someone. Life is complicated, messy and like this book, it rarely goes in a linear fashion. I absolutely adored this book and I cannot wait to get my hands on a finished copy of it. 5 stars to this beautifully written book about life and the choices we make every single day.

Waiting On Wednesday #5 Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Jill of Breaking the Spine. It’s a way to showcase an upcoming release that we are excited for.
On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road. 

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

Book Link: Goodreads
My Reaction
This book looks amazing and I’m already hearing some early buzz going around even though it doesn’t release until September. I do have a very eclectic taste and this definitely seems like a book I’ll love. Excited for it and eagerly awaiting September so that I can grab a copy of this book. It’s gonna be a long wait but I think this book will be worth it.
So what book are you waiting on?