Disney Love- Day 10

disney

Thank you so much to Alexia for inviting me to guest post today while she is off having fun in Southern California! My name is Emily and I blog over at www.emilyreadseverything.com. I love Disney but I have really unusual tastes. My favorite Disney movie is Robin Hood! I haven’t been to DisneyWorld in 15 years and I’ve never been to Disneyland. I feed my Disney obsession by following blogs written by people who are closer to Disney than I am or who approach Disney with a unique perspective.

The first is Gorillas Don’t Blog http://gorillasdontblog.blogspot.com/. Funny name, great Disney blog. This blogger posts beautiful vintage pictures from Disneyland.. Sometimes he includes Knott’s Berry Farm or other California locations. I love seeing these glimpses of the past and I think its great to compare them to pictures of Disney today. Everything Disney does is so heavily themed and that hasn’t changed a bit over the years!

From my first pick, you can tell I love art.That goes double for my next pick. Kevin Kidney at http://miehana.blogspot.com/ is an artist and maker who posts pictures of projects. Right now he has an amazing build of a ghost they made as a reproduction of a ghost in the Haunted Mansion. His past posts are just as interesting and slightly obscure. He did an indepth look at Tik Tok from Return to Oz, a personal favorite of mine.. If you aren’t familiar with Return to Oz, you should definitely check it out. It’s darker than The Wizard of Oz with a giant, walking, talking clock and a pumpkin headed man.

Have you heard of cosplay? Probably, you have but I will explain it anyway. Cosplay is the act of dressing up like characters that you like from different fandoms. I just love looking at the way people interpret and put together costumes. Its a costly and time consuming labor of love, just like blogging is. Check out http://hellyadisneycosplay.tumblr.com/ for some amazing costumes.

Speaking of cosplay, Disney does it differently, like they do everything different and there is a specific Disney way to cosplay called Disney Bounding. This is when instead of dressing up overtly like your favorite character, you put together an outfit that uses street clothes from  your closet to suggest the aspects of a character. It’s a little hard to explain but there is a great blog about this at http://disneybound.tumblr.com/. I love the amount of work and attention to detail that goes into crafting a great cosplay. I also love the amount of creativity and innovation that goes into designing and assembling the perfect Disney Bound.

Finally, my very favorite Disney blog isn’t really a Disney Blog. Jen at www.epbot.com (also known as Jen from www.cakewrecks.com) writes a blog that she calls Geekery, Girliness and Goofing Off. She lives close to Disneyworld and she often goes there on special days to tell post pictures about it. For instance, Disney hosts a Dapper Day once a year? Jen has gone and taken great pictures! Jen is also an incredible maker in her own right. She posts tutorials and patterns of things that she’s made. For instance, check out this AT-AT Rocker that Jen and her husband, John created. I love seeing the things she comes up with.

I had so much fun putting this post together. I hope you enjoyed it as much as me. Thanks again to Alexia for inviting me to be here!

ERE

Leave a Reply

